Remembered Joy


***I most certainly did not write this. It’s far beyond anything I could possibly come up with!***

This is however a great old Irish funeral poem that I mentioned on The Schenectady Blog on Timesunion.com.

It’s one of the best things that I have ever read.

Also, since I am regularly hyper-emotional (as the Irish tend to be) it makes me sad just from the standpoint that all my lost loved ones rush to the front of my brain.

Well enough of all that, here’s the poem…

Remembered Joy
Don’t grieve for me, for now I’m free!
I follow the plan God laid for me.
I saw His face, I heard His call,
I took His hand and left it all…
I could not stay another day,
To love, to laugh, to work or play;
Tasks left undone must stay that way.
And if my parting has left a void,
Then fill it with remembered joy.
A friendship shared, a laugh, a kiss…
Ah yes, these things I, too, shall miss.
My life’s been full, I’ve savoured much:
Good times, good friends, a loved-one’s touch.
Perhaps my time seemed all too brief—
Don’t shorten yours with undue grief.
Be not burdened with tears of sorrow,
Enjoy the sunshine of the morrow.

About Will King

I've spent my whole life in Upstate New York and I wouldn't want to spend my life anywhere else. My son is perfect, even when he's not and my wife makes me want to slam my head against a brick wall all while keeping me sane. If you can figure all that out, let me in on it.
This entry was posted in being Irish, Family, friends, my favorite(s), remembering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

