9 Years Ago Today


This isn’t going to be long.  It’s also not going to have stats or figures or links.

I walked to my job Pet Supplies Plus (where I worked in 2001) and it was exactly as it was today.

Quiet.  Little traffic on Western Ave. Not a cloud in the sky.

For lack of a better word, the day was…perfect.

One of those days where as soon as you close the door behind you, you look up, notice the beauty that is the clearest blue sky you swear you ever saw and smile because it just makes you happy.

I walked into Uncommon Grounds for my morning bagel and overhead a man at the counter talking about how a plane drove into the World Trade Center. I paid for my stuff and hurried next door to my job.

Told Jen (the manager on that day) and she didn’t believe me, said I was full of it.

Then I ran to the back and put on the radio, just put on AM and turned the dial until I heard something about what was going on.

My true feelings of shock blasted into my brain with every word the man on the radio said.

It was a long day.  It was such a very long day and sometimes…

…sometimes I think the shock has never left.

About Will King

I've spent my whole life in Upstate New York and I wouldn't want to spend my life anywhere else. My son is perfect, even when he's not and my wife makes me want to slam my head against a brick wall all while keeping me sane. If you can figure all that out, let me in on it.
This entry was posted in remembering and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

