I have a problem.


I’m sure that if anyone I know is reading this they are nodding their head.

Sadly for all of them, it is they who are crazy, not me!

Anyway, the real problem is this;

I’ll be reading something, anything, and all I have to do is see a word that my brain associates with a song and the song will start playing in my head. I can’t help it.

This is likely to start a song in my head. Yes, it's that simple.

Earlier I was reading some random article online and came across the word “Aruba” and, on cue, I heard “Kokomo” by The Beach Boys. It’s now playing in my head again as I type this. Unbelievable.

If someone references Super Nintendo I get “Juicy” by The Notorious B.I.G.

If the phrase, ‘last resort’ is ever used, it obviously starts “Last Resort” by Papa Roach.

It’s more than just words and phrases though. Sometimes a place or a time in my life will automatically start a song. It’s like the soundtrack to my life or something, created in my crazy head.

My family lived on Second St. in Albany (literally across the street from Bleecker Stadium) from 1986-94 and when I think about that time and place it starts one of two songs, either “Sweet Child O’ Mine” by Guns N’ Roses or “Summer Nights” by Van Halen. It’s not like these songs held any particular meaning at the time, it’s just that I heard my parents listening to these songs so much that when I think about that time in my life they are what come to the forefront of my mind.

So back then they had no meaning, but now they most certainly do.

There are people who make songs play in my head too. When my grandfather died the first song I heard on the radio was, “Time of Your Life” by Green Day, unbelievably appropriate considering the timing.

There are so many other words, phrases, times, places, and people that begin a song in my head that I could go on forever.

No, really, I could.

Does this make me crazy?

About Will King

I've spent my whole life in Upstate New York and I wouldn't want to spend my life anywhere else. My son is perfect, even when he's not and my wife makes me want to slam my head against a brick wall all while keeping me sane. If you can figure all that out, let me in on it.
This entry was posted in my issues/problems, remembering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I have a problem.

  1. Sue says:

    Not crazy at all. I do the same thing with songs. I do it with movies, too. Something will happen, and I’ll quote a line from a movie, or automatically start thinking about a particular scene.

    • Will King says:

      Sue – I could have written another whole post about the movie line thing.

      My wife says I have seen some movies wayyyy too many times. I like what I like! 😛

  2. Catherine says:

    I’m the exact same way! I love it. Not only will I think of the song, but I will sing it, no matter where I am, or what I’m doing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

