My Wife and Her Projects and My Memory


I have no forethought. Well, I have little forethought.

Before I met my wife I had no forethought. My idea of looking to the future was, “I wonder what’s happening this weekend…”

Now I can formulate plans and thoughts about such things as vacation…when I’m 30. (That’s about 14 months away, and yes that is a loooong time into the future for me to think!) I’m surprised that I can even phyically do it, six or seven years ago trying this could have resulted in my head literally
exploding.

My thoughts on dinner were to wait until I was hungry and then meander into my little kitchen (at my apartment on Homestead in Albany) and rummage through my cabinets to see what I had.

Now I would still be that way except my wife is routinely peppering me with questions like, “So what do you want for dinner tomorrow?” Tomorrow?! I don’t even know what we’re having for dinner tonight!  Only for her to inform me that, yes, I do indeed know what we are having for dinner tonight because we discussed it two days prior. Apparently my skills in the selective memory department are quite impressive.

Yeah...sometimes I don't have film.

We recently took down wallpaper and repainted our foyer and up the stairs to the second floor. Have you ever taken down wallpaper? It’s a delightfully hellish experience. I despised the fact that we were even embarking on this project, as I had no knowledge that this was going to be happening.

Wrong.

It’s ok, I’m a married man, I am usually wrong…even when I’m right, except this time I really was wrong. I think. (Got that?)

She apparently discussed this with me and we worked out how we were going to do it and everything. How much of this do I remember? Not a damn thing. I must have a remote like the one Adam Sandler’s character had in the movie Click. I must fast forward through all her (future) plans.

I previously have imposed an at least 3 week moratorium between projects. I guess that just gives me more time to ‘forget’ what’s going on.

I know what you’re thinking, “So what’s for dinner tonight?”

I haven’t the slightest.

About Will King

I've spent my whole life in Upstate New York and I wouldn't want to spend my life anywhere else. My son is perfect, even when he's not and my wife makes me want to slam my head against a brick wall all while keeping me sane. If you can figure all that out, let me in on it.
This entry was posted in Family, my issues/problems, rant, Talks with the wife. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Wife and Her Projects and My Memory

  1. Mom says:

    HAHAHA…You know I don’t remember a time that you weren’t this way…LOL…But sometimes that’s what I love about you…because if you didn’t have this quality you wouldn’t be you…and yes this is a quality…there are just somethings you don’t want to remember and most people don’t have this…I love you!!!

  2. Gosh, I have trained you so well… 😉

Leave a Reply

