There’s No Difference, You’re Just Crazy (old)!


Every year I hear older people say the same things about the weather. Literally every single year they say the same thing.

For example, during the summer, “You know…didn’t it used to be hotter during the summer when we were younger?” or “We used to have such hot summers when I was younger, its different now.”

During the winter, “Man, we used to get so much more snow when we were younger!”

No.

No you didn’t.

A line from Mary Schmich’s (Chicago Tribune) June 1, 1997 article entitled “Advice, like youth, probably wasted on the young” says it perfectly,

Accept certain inalienable truths: Prices will rise. Politicians will philander. You, too, will get old. And when you do, you’ll fantasize that when you were young, prices were reasonable, politicians were noble and children respected their elders.

Take that and just apply it to the weather. Just as politicians philander now, they philandered then. The weather had its ebbs and flows then, just as it does now.

Some winters are blustery, cold, and rife with snow and others are dry, warm, and dare I say, pleasant. Some summers are wet and cool, others dry and hot. Just like they are now.

I guess it’s not that bad they you golden oldies reminisce the way you do. Everyone wants their time period or their ‘hey day’ to be better or the best compared to future generations. Everything is a contest it seems!

I’m probably going to be the same way when I’m older. Telling Will Jr. all about the winter of 2010-11 and just how bad we had it compared to now. 😀

About Will King

I've spent my whole life in Upstate New York and I wouldn't want to spend my life anywhere else. My son is perfect, even when he's not and my wife makes me want to slam my head against a brick wall all while keeping me sane. If you can figure all that out, let me in on it.
This entry was posted in my issues/problems, rant and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There’s No Difference, You’re Just Crazy (old)!

  1. michael rivest says:

    Actually, the weather was wonderful when I was a kid. Perfect. We used to walk to school – 10 miles each way, in the snow, and we LIKED it. Then came all of those space rockets and it ruined everything. (I’ve finally arrived at an age where I can refer to young folks like you as “whipper-snappers,” Will. FML)

  2. Will King says:

    Michael – Space rockets ruin everything!!

  3. Mom says:

    Well… I remember snow piles in front grandmas house…the snowbanks were always up to the windows and we used to play king of the hill…I remember winter of ’69…my cousin and I walked to the grocery store and the snow was above our knees… don’t remember all that much ice…but snow there was always tons of it…awww memories…:)

Leave a Reply

