I could never imagine…


Surfing this never ending thing they call the Internets I came across a truly heartwrenching story.

Nathan and Elisa Bond lived a basically normal life in Bay Ridge with their 18-month-old daughter Sadie. Two first time parents going through the motions of all that challenge entails, but loving every second of it. I know how they feel my own son just turned 1 just this month. I know the challenges they face and I know the unconditional love they have for their daughter.

On Valentine’s Day Nathan was diagnosed with colorectal cancer and given a 60% chance of living past five years.

Less than a week after hearing that grave news, his wife Elisa recieved the results of the lump on her breast. It was cancer and it had spread throughout her entire body. The cancer in Elisa was so advanced doctors told her that it was incurable and that she had just a 16% chance of living past five years.

There is a large chance that these two people will die, it’s sad, but it’s the truth. What about their daughter? Just 18-months-old now and might be 5 with both parents lost to cancer.

It made me reflect on my own son and if this incalculable tragedy were to happen to my wife and I. What would happen to my son?

It’s hard to even think about. I cannot even begin to imagine the private thoughts either Nathan or Elisa have when they have a quiet moment alone. It’s devastatingly sad.

Imagine hearing news that you were most likely going to leave your child parentless? How would you react to that? How do you react to that?

Just sitting here and thinking about it and putting myself in that place makes several emotions flow through me. It would make me angry. Oh my God…so angry. Like, how could this happen? I have so much to see still, I have to see my son grow up. I have to see him smile and say, “I love you Daddy!”

Angry that he would be without his mother. Every child needs their mother. I would pray every day that I could take her cancer and put it in my own body. I would sacrifice myself in a heartbeat so she could be alive for him.

I can hear myself already, “PLEASE, just please let us get better. I promise I won’t do anything wrong anymore, I promise I won’t be angry with people for no reason…I promise I’ll be more kind…I’ll do anything you want just don’t let us die…he needs us….”

Sorry, sometimes my crazy emotional Irish mind can get a little carried away sometimes. I don’t mean to make this about me, because it’s not, the situation just made me think…”What would I do?”

The answer is, “I don’t know.” I really don’t know.

I wouldn’t wish this on anyone, not even just these people, but anyone with cancer. I’ve witnessed cancer. I’ve lost family to cancer and even though I’m not the worlds most religious person, I do believe in God and so I will pray for Nathan and Elisa and, especially for their little daughter, Sadie.

They need it more than I do.

http://www.nydailynews.com/ny_local/2011/03/25/2011-03-25_brooklyn_parents_in_a_race_against_time_as_both_diagnosed_with_advanced_cancer_w.html

About Will King

I've spent my whole life in Upstate New York and I wouldn't want to spend my life anywhere else. My son is perfect, even when he's not and my wife makes me want to slam my head against a brick wall all while keeping me sane. If you can figure all that out, let me in on it.
This entry was posted in Family, my son and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I could never imagine…

  1. Mom says:

    This story is heartbreaking…I think at one time or another every parent has those thoughts even if they have not been told these horrible nightmarish diagnosis. I would take lil Will in a heartbeat. But that’s NOT going to happen because I pray for both of you everyday. I love you guys and I don’t want to think about it…

  2. Catherine says:

    Ok, thanks for making me cry. 😦

    It is such a hard thing to think of. Those poor poor parents….The only thing that would keep me going is the making sure I lived every moment possible with my child for those 5 years, and pray that there was a miracle in the mix. Makes you really think differently….

  3. Mikey Blue Balls says:

    Well, you can take solace in the fact that both Cat and Kel are his godparents (that was definitely tongue in cheek)

Leave a Reply

