Houses break, did you know?


This past weekend (March 26 to be exact) my wife noticed a couple of puddles on the floor in the basement. No big deal really, I mean it was just two small puddles with no other traces of water.

Okay, so maybe it wasn’t a lot of water, but where the hell did it come from? Maybe this was a big deal.

It was Saturday night when my wife happened upon these puddles and so she was a little creeped out because there was water, but no trail to where it came from. Like they just…appeared.

So in response to her banshee like screams I casually sauntered down to the basement and there they were, just chillin, hangin out, nowhere to go. It was really strange to be honest.

I looked everywhere to find where the damn water was coming from and found nothing. Everything was dry. The sink upstairs (which has leaked previously into the basement), all the pipes in the basement, the bathroom on the first floor, everything was fine.

So we shrugged it off as we have a poltergeist and our only course of action would be to avoid television stations with static.

Fast forward to Monday and it’s time for work. Rise and shine for Will Jr. and while I was getting him dressed I hear my dear wife break out her banshee scream (again). She informed me through this supersonic scream that not only was there more water, but it was everywhere.

I picked Will up and down to the basement we went. What do ya know…she was right. Water all over the floor, flowing from..***DUN DUN DUN*** the hot water heater!

Prince (our boxer) decided it was happy fun time and galloped in the water. If you ever have met or ever will meet Prince you will understand completely how…uh…special he is.

I, however, wasn’t as pleased.

Short story long, we called up Home Depot and they kindly put in a brand spankin’ new hot water heater for us.

(Side note: Eh, who am I kidding I didn’t call anyone, I hate the damn phone. The wonderful wife of mine makes the calls in this household. It’s better that way, I get ugly on the phone. Sweating, twitching, heart pounding, it’s not pretty.)

Epilogue:

The new hot water heater is in, working good, everything is great.

When we cleaned up the water that was spewing from the 13-year-old hot water heater we used some dirty blankets and towels. When we picked them up off the floor we had no place to put them because the washer had clothes in it, so into the basin sink they went.

The day after the new hot water heater went in my wife decided to do some laundry. The water from the washer drains into the basin sink.

I was asked to go downstairs and proceed with the switch (taking the clothes out of the dryer and replacing them with the clothes from the washer) and found something waiting on the floor for me.

Water. Water everywhere.

What was in the basin sink? That’s right, the wet towels and blankets we used to clean up the water on the floor.

I was not pleased.

Kim was quoted as saying, “FUCK I totally forgot about the blankets in the sink!!!”

Yes you did, my lovely wife, yes you did.

About Will King

I've spent my whole life in Upstate New York and I wouldn't want to spend my life anywhere else. My son is perfect, even when he's not and my wife makes me want to slam my head against a brick wall all while keeping me sane. If you can figure all that out, let me in on it.
This entry was posted in i love my house, my issues/problems. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Houses break, did you know?

  1. Kim says:

    We are really good at ignoring things….like the mysterious puddles in the basement, or even the downstairs bathroom situation. See, this is where normal concerned homeowners would have investigated the problems…. haha. If it can’t be addressed in a commercial break, its a bit more work then we are looking to put in 😛

Leave a Reply

