He may not look like me…


…but he sure does act like me.

My son would be the “he” I am referring to.

I’ll be blatantly honest here. It’s really hard to tell whom a fresh baby is going to look like. I thought, “Is he going to look like me?” then I thought, “Psh, he better look like me, how can he not look like me?! I mean I’m the dad for Christ sake!”, then I thought, “Son of a…, what if he doesn’t look like me?!”

That last question is not at all a knock on my wife (she’s beautiful), but what father wouldn’t love his son to resemble himself? I assume it’s just a natural thing to want for a father.

He did turn out to not really look like me. Well, at least not now he doesn’t. He is only 13 months old though, so obviously things can, will, and do change. But as of right now he looks like his mother. His head is huge (his mother and I both have quite large domes). He has blue eyes (which we can also both take credit for as we both have blue eyes). That’s where the similarities in appearance end between the fruit of my loins and me.

It was a little depressing going to the in-laws and hearing repeatedly how much he, “looks like Tom!” Tom is the grandfather (Kim’s father). He’s a nice guy and he has always treated me well, but damn, who wants to hear incessantly how much his son looks like another man?

It’s ok though, I’m past that now. I have come to the conclusion that he may not ever look like me. Jury is still out on whether that’s a good thing or not (I’m voting good).

I am now focused on how he acts and how responsible I am for it. No jury needed here. Spend time with him and it’s clear, that’s my boy!

A short list of ways he is like moi;

1. He is semi-impervious to pain.

This is 100% me. Kim is…well, I’ll be nice here; she is just not as good with pain as most. I, on the other hand, have an extremely high tolerance for pain. It’s a gift and a curse. I have personally knocked his head against the wall and he just stares at me, sometimes smiles, almost never cries.

(Side note: Please do not call CPS it was an accident people!)

2. He can talk forrrreeeevvvveeerrrrrr.

Also me. I have been known to be a little long winded. Will can run off at the mouth with his little baby gibberish for what seems like hours at a time. It won’t be long before he starts telling her a story and his mother explains to him that he has already told this story to her three times this week alone. Join the club my son, I hear it all the time.

3. This may be a stretch since he is only a month past a year old, but he is athletic.

I know my wife was on the track team. This is a fact that she has made sure to mention on numerous occasions. She’s a “track superstar”, her words, not mine.

(Fun fact: She was only on the track team for the jacket!)

So I am fully negating her “track team” days. This athletic ability comes from me. I was usually the underdog and usually always outperformed what people thought about me before seeing what I could do. Will Jr’s lone ability right now is running. He can’t run without the help of a walker, but damn, that boy gets around. His favorite activity is getting a hold of one of Prince’s (our boxer) squeaky toys and then proceeding to run back and forth from the front door to the back corner of the dining room and
back again. Laughing hysterically the whole way.

4. He likes to read.

Kim will read if it’s a website, blog, or magazine. She isn’t too keen on books. Will Jr. loves books! He is always grabbing one of his books, opening it up and going from page to page talking his gibberish and laughing. Kim reads to him and he laughs almost uncontrollably at times. While I don’t burst out in random laughter when I read, I do read a lot. Love a good book.

5. He has quite the imagination.

No I can’t understand baby speak, but I do know when I see my son ‘thinking’ when he plays with his toys. I can just see that imagination at work. Sometimes he talks low to his toys or ‘yells’ at them as he places them around the floor. This is all me! Since I can remember I have always had a very active imagination and it seems as if that has been passed on.

6. He is very self-reliant.

Well as much as a 1-year-old can be. Example, we hear him wake up and he is talking, but not crying. No rush to get out of bed, just playing. He talks, laughs, and plays with the stuffed animals he has in his crib with him. He’ll lay there for a good hour+ sometimes. We come in to get him out of the crib and he just smiles. Love that smile.

That’s all I got for now, but it’s looking like there will be more!

A boy of many faces.

About Will King

I've spent my whole life in Upstate New York and I wouldn't want to spend my life anywhere else. My son is perfect, even when he's not and my wife makes me want to slam my head against a brick wall all while keeping me sane. If you can figure all that out, let me in on it.
This entry was posted in Family, my son. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He may not look like me…

  1. Wow, he looks just like my dad 😉 LOL

Leave a Reply

