It was a good day Eric


One of my cousin Eric’s favorite places was Galway Lake. Not many people know of it or about it, but we have gone there our whole lives.

We’ve had vacations there. We’ve fished there many times. We’ve had great times. An overabundance of great times actually.

Going down to the damn and catching crayfish. Having gigantic bonfires. Satellite worthy bonfires. We always smiled at Galway. It makes me smile to remember those times.

We had another good day at Galway in honor of your birthday today.

You would definitely of hated the fire though, you and I would have definitely killed that fire. Me and you are pyromaniac brothers. We love to burn shit in that non-serial killer fashion. It’s true.

Kell caught a fish after casting through a tree. Obviously you would have called him an idiot in your patented Eric way.

Everyone that was there, though not a large group, had you on their minds. It was still good, it was (mostly) happy. We talked of how much you loved going fishing out on Galway and your affinity for always telling Kell that your fish was bigger.

Towards the end of the day I went down to the dock with Kell. He wanted to cast off one last time before leaving and he wanted me to come down with him.

I sat down on a chair on the dock, Kell casted off and it was good. We felt your presence. We felt it in the way the breeze blew and the way the water flowed and in the blue jays that called out and how the ducks flew low over the water.

And although we missed you so much…it was a good day Eric.

It was a good day.

About Will King

I've spent my whole life in Upstate New York and I wouldn't want to spend my life anywhere else. My son is perfect, even when he's not and my wife makes me want to slam my head against a brick wall all while keeping me sane. If you can figure all that out, let me in on it.
This entry was posted in Eric, Family, friends, Galway, remembering. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

