Family Walk


It was sporadically rainy yesterday after work, but my wife and I wanted to take our son for a walk. The kid loves being outside.

So much so that if he is outside and playing and you say the words “go” and “inside” consecutively he is libel to turn into the demented kid from Pet Sematary (thank God we don’t have a scalpel). Ah, stories for another day…

So as soon as we arrived home from work we wrangled up the dumb dog, threw his leash on and out we went.

As we walked out the front door one of the cats ran out, which isn’t normally a problem because we let our cats outside all the time, but it was Psycho (yes, the cats name is Psycho). This cat is quirky and crazy, and always has been hence her appropriate name.

Since she was little and I first started to let her outside to roam, and make my neighbors (in three separate neighborhoods now) hate me, and I happen to head outside to take a walk, well, she follows me. I’ve tried to chase her off by running at her, yelling at her, and throwing rocks at her (not to hit her, but in her general direction to scare her off). I’ve done all these things in broad daylight. People have seen me do all this and I am sure they didn’t see the cat and if they ever see me again I’m just going to be that crazy guy that used to yell and throw rocks at the road.

She’s followed me a half mile from an apartment where I lived to a local Stewarts Shop, multiple bus stops and into the car. There have been times when I was going to end up on a busy street and with her following. For fear of her getting hit by a car I was begrudgingly forced to return home, BECAUSE MY CAT WAS FOLLOWING ME.

Psycho

Anyway, with the rain hanging around we kept the walk to a short, 10-15 minute jobber around the block. This is a walk I could make in no-time, but 2-year-olds have a way of taking their time. Little legs may contribute to the problem.

As we started up the side street I turn back to wave at Will Jr and see how he’s making out (he was holding my wife’s hand) and what do I see? The damn cat.

Short story long, she literally followed us the entire walk. She walked, ran, and pranced right along side of us for the majority of the stroll.

She had a fine time running onto everyone of the neighbors porches, under their cars, and actually flirted with entering a house with an open front door.

About Will King

I've spent my whole life in Upstate New York and I wouldn't want to spend my life anywhere else. My son is perfect, even when he's not and my wife makes me want to slam my head against a brick wall all while keeping me sane. If you can figure all that out, let me in on it.
This entry was posted in crazy animals, Family, the cat(s) and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Family Walk

  1. Denise King says:

    Oh Phycho!!! She loves you guys…lol

Leave a Reply

