My 5 Favorite Songs (right now); 10.7.2012


I love music. All kinds of music. I’m also no expert and so when I tell someone of a particular song that I really like and it’s a pop song, or a Taylor Swift song (I don’t care what you think), or some old rap-rock song and I get a dirty look or sneer from some self-proclaimed music expert (aka music snob) I couldn’t care less.

Actually it kind of makes me smile because it annoys the shit out of them that I dare like a song that isn’t up to their own personal standard of music and what is actually good, or not.

Music is art and it is subjective and therefore I can like any music I want and I don’t need a reason to hold off the music snob(s) that pervade the music scene and proclaim that any particular musical artist is garbage because they don’t live up to their snobbish standards.

You want to like Ke$sha? Fine! Taylor Swift? Limp Bizkit? Linkin Park? Fine, fine, FINE!

You know why it’s fine? Because if you listen to a song and inside your mind and body it makes you feel something positive, then you like it. Don’t be ashamed, just let it ride. Don’t let anyone else ever tell you that you shouldn’t like a particular artist or group because they are popular or a “sell-out” or not “real music”.

If it makes you feel good inside or it gives you some sort of relief or comfort, then just like it. Like it for as long as you want.

With that said, here is my first installment of 5 songs I am currently liking/loving;

1. Apple Pie Moonshine by Jake Owen

2. It’s Time by Imagine Dragons

3. Ho Hey by The Lumineers

4. Soundtrack 2 My Life by Kid Cudi

5. LIES GREED MISERY by Linkin Park

About Will King

I've spent my whole life in Upstate New York and I wouldn't want to spend my life anywhere else. My son is perfect, even when he's not and my wife makes me want to slam my head against a brick wall all while keeping me sane. If you can figure all that out, let me in on it.
This entry was posted in my favorite(s) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

